Because the health and well-being of everyone is a high priority, the Hilda Fowke Memorial Spelling Bee and Dinner is cancelled for 2020.  We hope to see everyone in 2021.

2019 Spelling Bee Winners

Congratulations to Debbie Sowinski, Todd Dufresne, and Kirsten Woods, the team of TD Buzz and the winners of the 2019 Hilda

Fowke Memorial Spelling Bee.

Congratulations to the TD Buzz cheering section, the winner of the  "Cheering" award.

Congratulations to Jessy Genier,  Melissa Boivin, and Emily Laffin of the Spellegrinos for raising the most pledges!

A special thank you to Helene Culhane (Master of Ceremonies), James Paterson (Master Pronouncer),  Georgia Geverding (Judge), and Robert Hynds (Timer).

A big thank you to Zante's for providing the bar.

A special thanks goes to Helene Culhane (Master of Ceremonies), James Paterson (Master Pronouncer), Georgia Geverding (Word Judge), Robert Hynds (timer), Martin Drainville (sound system), Amber Elliott (decorations), Melanie and Erika (dishes), Victoria Payne (kitchen), and all the teams that participated in the Bee.

A special thanks goes out to all of our generous in-town donors: The Match Factory, Armstrong on Whitewood,  Essentials, Walker's Honey, Carpet One, Dida's, Déjà vu Boutik, John and Ria Vanthof, Liv and Gracie’s, Findley's Drug Store, R.U. Hungries, Shellane Woodworking, Smallman's Pharmacy, 5th Wheel Training Institute, Tri Town Toyota, City of Temiskaming Shores, Riverfront Chiropractic Health Centre, Zante’s Bar and Grill, Vanessa Menard from Riverfront Chiropractic Health Centre, Active 1 Source for Sports, Images Salon, Town of Latchford, Marty’s Auto Tech, Tri-Town Toyota, Quantum Xpress, Revkor, Joyce Moore, Chat Noir, Ransacked,  Mr. Gas, Georgia Geverding, Janet Hynds and The Orchard.

A special thanks also goes out to our out-of-town donors:  Jungle Cat World Wildlife Park, Louise Penny, Ontario Science Centre, AGO, Toronto Zoo, Bird Kingdom, CNE, Hockey Hall of Fame, Robert Munsch, Lailey Winery, Chateau des Charmes, Ingenium, Canada's Museums of Science and Innovation, Recipe Unlimited Corporation, Picaboo, National Gallery of Canada, CNE, Bird Kingdom, Medieval Times, The Haunted Walk, Of Rock and Chalk, National Ballet of Canada, Maple Leaf Sports, Canadian Museum of History, Canadian Museum of Nature and Kirkland Lake Gold.

Thank you to our 2019 Sponsors

Leaf $500

Louise Penny,


Stem $250

Rotary Club

Seed  $100

Past Bee Winners



Polyester Spellers

  • Amanda Mongeon

  • Lindalee Roberts

  • Emilie Barbeau




  • Amanda Mongeon

  • Lindalee Roberts

  • Dawn Olson



Bee Healthy

  • Amanda Mongeon

  • Kerry Schubert-Mackey

  • Marlene Spruyt


Jane Austen's Posse

Eliisa Ollila

Tammy Mackey

Brenda Morissette


Jane Austen's Posse

Eliisa Ollila

Pat Hamilton

Monique Lafond


Dumble Bees

  • Linda St. Cyr

  • Angela Fiset

  • Pat Willard-Inglis




  • Michael Werner

  • Mark Milton

  • Serge Gendron



Jane Austen's Posse

  • Brenda Morissette

  • Kellie Broderick

  • Eliisa Ollila


Jane Austen's Posse

Kellie Broderick

Eliisa Ollila

Brenda Morissette


TD Buzz

Debbie Sowinski

Kirsten Woods

Todd Dufresne


19 Whitewood Avenue E.,  

P. O.  Box 1558

New Liskeard, ON  P0J 1P0

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus
  • w-youtube

© 2013-14 by LCST & VFTB